Stained glass in church

Jun 10 2004

The wedding was DC-themed, and took place in this historical Presbyterian church that was apparently attended by several presidents (my crappy memory has forgotten which ones; maybe Lincoln). I had Zinn’s _A People’s History of the United States_ along, which lent the US-history significance of my trip a pretty interesting twist. The more history, news, and culture I consume, the more I dislike large associations of humans and the more I like individual humans and small groups. It’s also getting harder for me to accept nearly anything I read, even things supposedly “on my side”. I almost always find inaccuracies and bias when reading about things I’m familiar with; who knows how much exists in subjects in which I don’t have the benefit of that familiarity? This all just strengthens my AT Field (see _Evangelion_).